Facebook product catalog, which is a container to hold information about the product items you want to advertise or sell across Facebook’s ecosystem, is used to power various products like Dynamic ads, Collection Ads and Marketplace. Billions of product updates are sent to Facebook on a daily basis, but we don’t fetch images for all the products in the inventory. The following FAQs cover some of the common scenarios.
When a feed upload finishes, we don't schedule fetch for all the items in the catalog. We will schedule the item for image fetch, only when an item has a pixel fire/app event or is pulled in for ad recommendation. Until then, the status of a newly created item will be “Not Fetched”.
When the image url of a previously fetched item is updated, we change the status of the item to “Outdated” and schedule it again for image re-fetch. The item can remain in “Outdated” state, if the image fetch request fails for any reason. Items with outdated images are not filtered out from ad impressions. We will continue to display the previously fetched images for these products.
We do not recommend adding a timestamp to the URL to make sure the images are downloaded. There is a high chance that we will stop rescheduling image fetching for those items.
If the image fetch fails consecutively, we will block requests for image fetch for that item for 12 hours. If the fetch requests continue to fail, there is a very high chance that we will not schedule it for image fetch.
A product is scheduled for review to ensure it doesn't violate any policies. Product review status refers to the status of that integrity check. The products are scheduled for review upon pixel fire or app event or product recommendation. We review all text fields and all images that are or can be made visible in an ad via dynamic templates. The status of the review changes to either “Approved” (item is ready to be shown to the users) or “Rejected” (item seems to be violating our policies, users can choose to appeal it). When a previously reviewed product is updated, we reschedule it for review and the status of that product changes to “Outdated”.